Chuck Rice
1 min readApr 24, 2024

--

Love how raw and honest you are, we need more writers like you! Icons were my favourite, and Design Systems I have a rebuttal to.

Icons I’m 100% with you. I’ve had to dive deep into icons at Moonpig partly out of necessity, but also out of interest and personal growth.

While scary, I loved being able to play around with the icon library we migrated to, and invent new icons when there weren’t any suitable options; how do we make it “fit in” with the rest?

On Design Systems, I agree, but I’d argue it depends on the philosophy of the System or the Design System Lead. For me, systems should follow the 80/20 Pareto principle.

80% of design work should be compositions, crafted using provided components and patterns. Yes yes, it’s the boring “product” side that just isn’t as sexy. But it’s necessary.

20% can be new, unique, and exciting. I actively encourage finding opportunities to get wild and go “off system”. This strikes the balance of being efficient and effective, but making room for delight.

All in all my favourite article in a long long time, please write more! ❤️

--

--

Chuck Rice

Sr. Design Systems Designer @ Moonpig 🌙🐷 • Figma Community Advocate • 🎓 Educator: chk.fyi/LearnFigma • 383k+ Medium views • #DesignSystems #DesignOps.